Vijay TV Awards 2008

Reliance Mobile Vijay (TV) Awards Gallery

Reliance Mobile Vijay Awards – the annual film awards show for Tamil Cinema conducted in 2007 by Vijay TV was a phenomenal success. The first of its kind Award show in South India, as the common man had a chance to vote for his favorite film STAR.  The grand awards ceremony was attended by a galaxy of stars like Kamal Hassan, Vijay, Vikram, Shreya, Trisha, Vivek among many others.

Now in 2008, Reliance Mobile Vijay Awards is back honoring Tamil movies released in the year 2007.

Reliance Mobile Vijay Awards
As part of the ground activity, a mobile van Rasigan Express would travel to the key cities in Tamilnadu over a period of two weeks; getting viewers to nominate their favorite Hero, Heroine, Director and film from the 107 films released in 2007. The cities on route are Chennai, Coimbatore, Madurai, Salem, Erode, Tanjore and Trichy. Post the nominations filed by the viewers via Rasigan Express, the 5 most popular names in each of the 4 categories would be up for viewer voting through the IVR, SMS and online platform.

Apart from the four FAVORITE awards; there are 22 BEST Awards and 4 SPECIAL awards that will be chosen by the jury. The 4 special awards are Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan Award for excellence in Cinema, Award for contribution to Cinema, Best Entertainer (chosen by the film industry) and Icon of the Year (chosen by media agencies and clients).

The grand awards ceremony will be held in Chennai amidst much fanfare attended by the top names of the industry. The show will also feature some special performances by leading actors and star performers. Yuhi Sethu, a popular film analyst and the charming actress Khushboo, would host the award’s show. The jury panel comprises of popular actor Bhagyaraj, film critic Madan, actor & film analyst Lizzy Priyadarshan.

Reliance Mobile Vijay Awards will also have an on air component; airing as a weekly, featuring the journey of the Rasigan Express, the judges panel discussing the movies and possible nominations in each category. The show would go on air in the last week of March 2008.

The flag off of the Rasigan Express will be held on the 19th of March and the following people would be the chief guests.

Mr. Parithi Illamvazhuthi (Information Minister of Tamil Nadu), Mr. Ramanarayanan (President of the Tamil Film Producers’ Council), Mr. S. A Chandrasekhar (President of the Tamil Film Directors’ Association), Mr. Sarath Kumar (President of the Tamil Actors Union) and Mr. Fefsi Vijayan (President of the Film Employee’s Federation of South India).

Mr. Sriram- Head Vijay TV says, “the stupendous success of Vijay Awards in 2007 and the strength and support of the Tamil film fraternity gives us the pleasure and pride to host this year’s Vijay Awards. We are confident that the awards will be a hit this year as well.”

Post your comment

TamilWire.NET - Latest English News

TamilCinema.News - Latest Cinema News - Latest Songs Downloads

TamilWire Movies - Latest Tamil Movie Trailers to Watch Online